2015 Athletes of the YearNipissing University has honoured their student athletes.

Female athlete of the year, and back to back winner, is nordic skier Kajsa Hayes who won three medals at nationals, including a gold and finished tied for first overall.

Heyes was an OUA all-star and member of the OUA bronze medal team.

Meantime, Lakers men’s volleyball right side Cam Branch is the male athlete of the year.  

He was an offensive force, leading the OUA in kills per set, ranking second in points per set, third in kills and sixth in total points.




Here’s a full list of the Lakers Award Winners:


Marcus Lewis – Men’s Basketball – OUA All-Rookie Team
Marcos Clennon – Men’s Basketball – OUA All-Rookie Team
Zosia Davis – Women’s Hockey – OUA All-Rookie Team
Kaley Tienhaara – Women’s Hockey – OUA All-Rookie Team
Jimmy McDowell – Men’s Hockey – OUA All-Rookie Team
Erik Robichaud – Men’s Hockey – OUA All-Rookie Team
Jean-Michel Paulin – Men’s Soccer – OUA Second Team All-Star
Shelby Dickey – Nordic Skiing – OUA All-Star
Kajsa Heyes – Nordic Skiing – OUA All-Star
Thomsen D’Hont – Nordic Skiing – OUA All-Star
Jordan Cascagnette – Nordic Skiing – OUA All-Star
Annabelle Harvey – Women’s Volleyball – OUA All-Rookie Team
Cameron Branch – Men’s Volleyball – OUA Second Team All-Star


Zosia Davis – Women’s Hockey – CIS All-Rookie Team
Kaley Tienhaara – Women’s Hockey – CIS All-Rookie Team

Leckie Award

Mitch McNeill – Men’s Hockey

M.E. Follis Award

Female: Carly Marchment – Women’s Hockey
Male: Andrew McWiggan – Men’s Hockey

Constable Andrew Keating Memorial Award

Steven Wood – Men’s Volleyball

Student Trainer of the Year

Heather Donovan – Women’s Basketball

Rookies of the Year

Female – Kaley Tienhaara and Zosia Davis – Women’s Hockey
Male – Jimmy McDowell and Erik Robichaud – Men’s Hockey

Athletes of the Year

Female – Kajsa Heyes – Nordic Skiing
Male – Cam Branch – Men’s Volleyball

Women’s Hockey

PRIDE – Brittany Crago (Pic)
Rookie – Kaley Tienhaara/Zosia Davis
MVP – Kaley Tienhaara/Zosia Davis

Men’s Hockey

PRIDE – Brogan Bailey
Rookie – Jimmy McDowell/Erik Robichaud
MVP – Matt Paton

Women’s Volleyball

PRIDE – Victoria Taylor
Rookie – Annabelle Harvey
MVP – Tracy Hammerton

Men’s Volleyball

PRIDE – Andrew McWiggan and Shawn Humphrey
Rookie – Steve Wood
MVP – Cam Branch

Women’s Basketball

PRIDE – Leisa Wierenga
Rookie – Maeve Therriault
MVP – Claire Abbott

Men’s Basketball

PRIDE – Jerron Rhodes
Rookie – Marcus Lewis and Marcos Clennon
MVP – Marcus Lewis and Marcos Clennon

Women’s Soccer

PRIDE – Shannon Russell
Rookie – Kristen Farkas
MVP – Selena Innamorati

Men’s Soccer

PRIDE – Zach Cameron
Rookie – Matt Simard
MVP – Grainger Munro

Nordic Skiing

PRIDE – Kevin Durkee (Men), Shelby Dickey (Women)
Rookie – Connor Psiuk (Men), Carina Eberhardt (Women)
MVP – Thomsen D’Hont (Men), Kajsa Heyes (Women)

Cross Country

PRIDE – Terry Doiron (Men), Stephanie Boland (Women)
Rookie – Connor Psiuk (Men), Jessica Mazzonello (Women)
MVP – Jordan Cascagnette (Men), Jessica Mazzonello (Women)


PRIDE – Patrick Fitzgerald
Rookie – Nick Chaykowsky
MVP – Zachary Kozlowski